40 Golden Boy nominees : Shortlist for 2021 Golden Boy award reduced to 40

sportcruz.com  > News >  40 Golden Boy nominees : Shortlist for 2021 Golden Boy award reduced to 40


The winner of the 2021 Golden Boy award is a step closer to being known, with Jude Bellingham, Eduardo Camavinga and Pedri among the leading contenders for the prize.

The list of nominations for the 2021 Golden Boy award has been cut to 40 and in the search to name the best young talent currently playing in Europe.

Erling Haaland is the current holder of the prestigious award that has also previously been won by the likes of Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Paul Pogba, Raheem Sterling and Kylian Mbappe.

Italian newspaper Tuttosport oversees the process and started by naming 100 top talents in June, which was cut to 80 in July, and 60 in August and now stands at 40 in September, before the final 20 is revealed in October.


The public online vote is responsible for whittling down the shortlist, but an expert panel from Italy’s premier sports newspapers and television channels will choose the winner in November, while the awards ceremony will take place in mid-December.

2021 Golden Boy nominations – final 40

  • Karim Adeyemi (Red Bull Salzburg)
  • Rayan Ait-Nouri (Wolves)
  • Ander Barrenetxea (Real Sociedad)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Stipe Biuk (Hajduk Split)
  • Myron Boadu (Monaco)
  • Brian Brobbey (RB Leipzig)
  • Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid )
  • Rayan Cherki (Lyon)
  • Mohammed Ali Cho(Angers) 
  • Francisco Conceicao (Porto)
  • Jeremy Doku (Rennes)
  • Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig)
  • Bryan Gil (Tottenham)
  • Goncalo Ramos (Benfica)
  • Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
  • Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)
  • Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig)
  • Mohamed Ihatteren (Sampdoria)
  • Ilaix Moriba (Leipzig )
  • Luis Henrique (Marseille)
  • Noni Madueke (PSV Eindhoven)
  • Gabriel Martinelli (Arsenal)
  • Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
  • Nuno Mendes (Sporting CP)
  • Pedri (Barcelona)
  • Roberto Piccoli (Atalanta)
  • Yeremi Pino (Villarreal)
  • Eric Garcia (Barcelona) 
  • Giovanni Reyna (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • William Saliba (Marseille)
  • Luke Thomas (Leicester)
  • Jurrien Timber (Ajax)
  • Felix Mambimbi(Young Boys) 
  • Martin Satriano (Inter)
  • Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • Mykhalo Mudryk (Shaktar Donetsk) 
  • Iiiya Zabarnyi(Dynamo kiev) 
  • Kheprehn Thuram (OGC Nice)