Home News Ballon d’or: L’Equipe announce four changes to Ballon d’Or rules.

Ballon d’or: L’Equipe announce four changes to Ballon d’Or rules.

ZURICH, SWITZERLAND - JANUARY 12: The FIFA Ballon d'Or trophy on display during a press conference prior to the FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2014 at the Kongresshaus on January 12, 2015 in Zurich, Switzerland. (Photo by Philipp Schmidli/Getty Images)

L’Equipe have announced four important changes on the way the Ballon d’Or winner is decided, with the new rules coming into effect from the next edition of the award.

France Football announced a series of changes in the prize rules that represent a revolution compared to what has been seen so far.

Lionel Messi is awarded with his seventh Ballon D’Or award during the Ballon D’Or Ceremony on November 29, 2021 in Paris, France. (Getty Images)

Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi was the player who won the prize last year, clinching the Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time, two more than Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo.

Below are the four changes announced by L’Equipe.

  • A more consistent schedule

Up to and including the 2021 edition, the award was awarded on the basis of the players’ performances during a calendar year, from January to December.

However, from now on, the prize will be given to the best player of the season, from August to July. This means that the next edition will be for the 2021/22 season and not 2022 and the World Cup will count for the 2022/23 season.

The Ballon d’ Or will now take into account players’ performances during a season (August-July) and not a calendar year (January-December).
  • Specialists to put together the lists

The editorial staff of France Football and L’Equipe were the ones who were choosing the 30 Ballon d’Or candidates, as well as the 20 for the Yashin Trophy and 20 for the Kopa Trophy.

However, from now on, more specialists will participate in the process, including Ballon d’Or ambassador Didier Drogba and the voters who came closer to getting the last edition’s results rights.

Ballon d’or ambassador Didier Drogba is able to participate in the process now. (Getty Images)

For the next edition,  Vietnamese journalist Truong Anh Ngoc, the New Zealander Gordon Watson and the Czech Karolina Hlavackova who will take part in the process.

From these plural lists will come the final official lists which will be unveiled in September.

  • Fewer votes

Representatives of as many as 170 countries participated in last edition’s voting, but this is about to change, as representatives of only the top 100 countries in the FIFA ranking (and the top 50 for women’s football) will be able to vote for now on as they believed the egigantism of the jury end up weakening the award due to lack of adequate knowledge or expertise from the “small” counties.

  • Criteria

The criteria of choosing the winner has always been an avenue for debate since inception.

Remembering Lionel Messi’s controversial 2010 Ballon d’Or win? Sneijder vs Messi debates? 

After stressing that the Ballon d’Or is an individual award, L’Equipe makes clear that voters should firstly focus mainly on the players’ individual performances over collective achievements, which will also be taken into consideration, with the third criterion being the players’ ability and sense of fair play.

criterion number 1 will focus primarily on individual performance and the decisive and impressive character of the contenders.

criterion number 2 will focus on collective performance and the record accumulated during the season.

Finally, criterion number 3 will concern the class of the player and his sense of fair play. Because setting an example also counts

As, that’s the hierarchy that should be followed in awarding the winners of the next edition of Ballon d’or.





Previous articleEuropa League: Barcelona Xavi ‘four’ Hernandez was held to a goalless draw yesterday, as Inaki Pena frustrated parent club.
Next articleAntonio Conte drops huge hint about his future as Tottenham’s manager.